Words Are Important, Use Them With Care

Principle 4 – 10 Principles for Spiritual Parenting by Mimi Doe

The last chapter, principle 3- Listen to Your Child, was about listening, the act of receiving words. This principle, Words Are Important, Use Them With Care, focuses on the art of sending words.

“Words have the power to make a child feel worthy or wrong, complete or lacking, delighted or dejected. “Yes” and “no,” spoken by her parent, can influence the course of a child’s day, week, life.” – 10 Principles for Spiritual Parenting by Mimi Doe

Not only is it important for us as parents to watch the words we choose to speak to our children with, but also the words we use around them. By understanding more than we know and picking up on our moods and tones, we affect our children more than we realize. Lila used to be sensitive to my tone of voice when I spoke to the dogs. She knew when I was being playful and she also knew when I was disciplining them. My tone and the loudness of my voice would make her cry. Now she understands when I discipline them and she chimes in with me.

My mom is one of those women who have a tone. When she uses that tone you know it’s time to listen, pay attention and do what she says. It’s amazing what she can establish with her “listen to me now” tone of voice. I am learning I have a similar tone. There was a day when I was physically, mentally and emotionally drained and Lila was not listening at them moment. To both of our surprise I used this tone to tell her to stop, be quiet and lay down. Wow, did I regret it. The look on her face broke my heart. I could tell I had broken hers a little too. With tears welling up in her eyes she looked at me and said in the smallest voice, “sorry mama.” It was at that moment I decided to check myself when I am frustrated, take a deep breath and talk to her instead of yell. Sometimes I do have to raise my voice to get my point across but never have I used that tone and volume again.

“Be conscious of your tone of voice, facial expressions and body language when you speak. Pretend with each word you send out you also send waves of harmony and joy. Your energy is sent out with your words-make the energy positive ripples.”
10 Principles for Spiritual Parenting by Mimi Doe

Leave a Reply

