Ways to Green Up Your Holiday Season part 1

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…I’m not sure about where you live, but around here (Cincinnati) you can’t go into a store without hearing holiday music or seeing holiday decorations.

I recently met with a group of moms to discuss how to simplify our holiday season. Listening to what other families do I realized that I’m lucky this year. My holiday season is pretty easy-peasy. We are not traveling and our families are not doing huge gift exchanges. And we might only have a few family members visit us over Christmas. Our only challenge that I can foresee is that it will be our first holiday meal as vegetarians. No turkey, baked ham and tender loin that has been part of our past holiday meals.

With our adventure in going green this year I’m challenging myself to bring that into our holiday season as well. I’ve started researching ways to  “green my holiday” and thought I’d share links and resources that I have found helpful with information or good ideas. Please feel free to share how you plan to green your holiday season.

Here is part 1 of just a few tips along with links and resources on how to minimize, simplify, save and go green this holiday season.

Holiday Cards

Gift Giving

  • Buy fewer gifts. Easy right?
    Try making your own gifts to give.
    Buy organic gifts. Mightynest and Organic Bug are great resources.
    Cool recycled gift ideas – RecycleScene
  • Donate gifts or money to a family in need or a local charity.
    Find a Charity

Other resources

Eco-friendly Christmas

Organized Christmas

Leave a Reply

